December 4, 2022

INDAC

Keep Fit & Healthy

EPIC BARS Reviewed: Are They Any Good?

4 min read

Final update July 14, 2022

Meat as a snack? Who would have imagined?

I was launched to EPIC Bars at PaleoFX past year. My very first considered:

Meat as a snack? Huh!

I had a style of the bison at their clearly show table and was amazed with the taste. I figured I desired to review the bars. When I acquired house from the conference, I determined to glance them up to examine out the ingredients and dietary information to see how they stacked up.

BisonBar

The EPIC Bars corporation describes the bars like this:

The EPIC bar is a 100% grass fed animal primarily based protein bar developed as mother nature supposed. Paleo welcoming, gluten cost-free, and lower in sugar, we consider that EPIC foodstuff really should encourage EPIC wellbeing.

So what’s basically in these factors? Properly, in this article are the elements.

Beef

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.31.21

Components: Natural and organic Beef, Walnuts, Dried Cherries, Lactic Acid, Salt Celery Powder, Great Black Pepper, Crushed Habanero.

Lamb

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.34.07

Substances: Organic Lamb, Natural and organic Currants, Sea Salt, Lactic Acid, Celery Powder, Spices (Basil, Marjoram, Oregon, Rosemary, Red Pepper, Black Pepper), Sesame Seeds, Dehydrated Spearmint Leaves, Dehydrated Lemon Peel.

Turkey

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.32.55

Elements: Turkey, Almonds, Dried Cranberries (Cranberries, Apple Juice Concentrate), Lactic Acid, Seasoning (Coriander, Cumin, Nutmeg, Pink Pepper, Dehydrated Garlic, Paprika, Dehydrated Onion). Salt, Celery Powder.

Bison

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.29.35

Elements: Bsion, Uncured Bacon – No Nitrites or Nitrates Added (Pork, H2o, Brown Sugar, Salt, Vinegar, Celery Powder, Sea Salt), Dried Cranberries (Cranberries, Apple Juice Concentrate), Lactic Acid, Celery Powder, Sea Salt.

The huge standout is the 8g of sugar, which is increased than we’d like it to be, but beside that (we’ll allow it slide), EPIC Bars seem to be to be up to snuff from an component standpoint. No very long component lists and no unpronounceable names. Acquire.

Perfectly, they appear to be to pass the test when it will come to elements. Now for the authentic examination. Do EPIC Bars taste any excellent?

Nicely, I created my way to Entire Foodstuff, grabbed just one of each of the diverse flavors, and went to perform to try out them out for myself. The effects have been surprising…

Beef

This is not good. It preferences like a mashup of cranberries and grime. No lie. The bar is two pounds and I could not end eating it. I pretty much spat it again out since it tasted so undesirable.

Verdict: 1/5 stars (it’s possible out of 5 stars). Not a excellent start out!

Lamb

Remarkably, this does not definitely taste like lamb at all. This merely preferences like a fantastic piece of beef jerky. I was surprised (particularly soon after the initially bar). Who understood lamb could be so tasty?

Verdict: 4/5 stars. Fairly excellent. Would try to eat yet again.

Turkey

Emboldened by my past try, I made a decision to give the turkey bars a attempt. Disappointment ensued again. I’m not confident how to explain this bar with no generating it sound awful, but it tasted like the turkey version of the beef kind. So, sub out the beef flavored dirt and substitute it with turkey flavored dirt and cranberries. What happened?

Verdict: 1/5 stars. Nope. Nope. Nope.

Bison

Conveniently the finest taste. This preferences like a moist, BBQ version of your favorite jerky, with a tiny spice, but not far too significantly.

5/5 Stars: All working day. Just about every day.

###

The (Epic) Epic Bar Verdict

I was shocked by the differences between the flavors. I was hoping that each bar would be of the identical excellent, but the excellent varied enormously.

So, what do we feel of EPIC Bars? Very well, they are good… If you get the correct flavors. Stick with the bison and the lamb. These bars are delicious, tasty, and terrific as fast snacks when you need to have some thing to combat off the hunger monsters. If you are experience adventurous, go in advance and try the turkey or the beef, but never get much more than one of each individual, except you like the style of ache in your mouth. EPIC Bars, when they’re good, are epically fantastic, but when they’re lousy, they are epically negative!

The bars value ~$3 every single and are a (a little undersized), but I’ll keep a few bison and lamb bars close to in case of a hunger unexpected emergency (just really don’t make me eat the turkey or beef once again you should!).

(specially the bison 1)

Test out some of our other opinions

ButcherBox 

Bacon Cookers

Whey Protein

Dry Farm Wines

Down load Your Absolutely free Paleo Starter Kit These days!


  • 3-Working day Paleo Eating plan Meal Prepare
  • Comprehensive Paleo Diet program Purchasing List
  • 5 of Our Favored Paleo Food plan Recipes

Leave a Reply